C.D. Howe Institute Monetary Policy Council

The C.D. Howe Institute Monetary Policy Council is comprised of 12 of Canada’s most distinguished financial-market and monetary economists. Chaired by the Institute’s Senior Vice President and Director of Research William Robson, it provides the Bank of Canada, financial-market participants and economic policy commentators with a regular independent assessment of the appropriate stance of Canadian monetary policy.

The Monetary Policy Council convenes to discuss the Bank of Canada’s policy toward the overnight rate, the short-term interest rate that is the Bank’s benchmark interest rate for influencing monetary conditions in Canada, shortly before each of the Bank’s interest-rate announcements.

The Bank of Canada’s interest-rate announcements occur roughly every six weeks, on Tuesdays or Wednesdays. The Monetary Policy Council’s recommendations, including the individual votes of its members, appear on the C.D. Howe Institute’s website at 2:00 p.m. on the Thursday before each scheduled announcement. (To see the schedule of past and future announcements click on this link).

The members of the Monetary Policy Council are:

Lloyd Atkinson

Tim O'Neill
BMO Financial Group
John Chant
Simon Fraser University
Michael Parkin
University of Western Ontario
Don Drummond
TD Bank Financial Group
Daniel Racette
École des Hautes Études Commerciales
Richard Harris
Simon Fraser University
Angela Redish
University of British Columbia
Warren Jestin
Bank of Nova Scotia
Nicholas Rowe
Carleton University
David Laidler
University of Western Ontario
Craig Wright
RBC Financial Group

Contact: Kristine Gray — phone: 416-865-1904; e-mail: kgray@cdhowe.org.