May 30, 2015

Fiscal & Tax Competitiveness Council

The ways governments spend, raise revenue, and manage their assets and liabilities have huge effects on living standards now and in the future. Improving the effectiveness and efficiency of government programs is a continuing task. Ensuring that the structure and rates of taxation do not discourage work, saving and investment in Canada is vital. Maintaining clear and comprehensive balance sheets, and measures to prevent unsustainable levels of funded debt and other liabilities, are an increasingly pressing challenge.

The C.D. Howe Institute’s Fiscal and Tax Competitiveness Program builds on the Institute’s extensive work on fiscal issues, including that of the Tax Competitiveness Program, which was inaugurated in 2005. Past achievements include building the case for deficit reduction in the 1980s and early 1990s, for consolidation of the Canada and Quebec Pension Plans in the late 1990s, a series of shadow federal budgets and fiscal accountability reports in that began in the 2000s, and work on marginal effective tax rates on personal incomes and business investment, which has laid the foundation for such key changes as sales tax reform, elimination of capital taxes, and corporate income tax rate reductions.

Yet deteriorating fiscal positions at all levels of government create a new set of challenges. Governments must restrain spending and will likely turn to new revenue sources. Accurate recording and astute management of assets and liabilities is more important than ever. Chaired by Michael Horgan, the C.D. Howe Institute’s Fiscal and Tax Competitiveness Council oversees research and development of policy recommendations to foster effective and efficient spending and tax programs, and ensures that Canadian fiscal policy supports economic dynamism and sustainable income growth.


Michael Horgan

Members and Supporters

Albert Baker, FCPA, FCA, Senior Tax Partner, Deloitte & Touche LLP
Richard M. Bird, University of Toronto
Ben Brunnen, Manager, Fiscal and Economic Policy, Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
Marlene Cepparo, Partner-in-Charge, National Tax, KPMG LLP
Bev Dahlby, Department of Economics, University of Alberta
Ross Hagemeister, Director of Tax – Canada, Cargill Limited
Gabriel J. Hayos, FCPA, FCA, Chartered Professional Accountants Canada
Brenda Kenny, President, Canadian Energy Pipeline Association
Jonathan Rhys Kesselman, Simon Fraser University
John Margeson, Chemistry Industry Association of Canada
George McAllister, Executive Director of Tax Policy, Department of Finance, Province of New Brunswick
Kevin Milligan, Associate Professor, Vancouver School of Economics, University of British Columbia
William Molson
Al Monaco, President, Enbridge Inc.
Lynn Moen, Chief Financial Officer, Walton Global Investments Ltd.
Luc Monty, Deputy Minister, Québec Ministère des Finances
Angelo Nikolakakis, International Tax Services, Couzin Taylor LLP / Ernst & Young L.P.
Michael J. O’Connor, Senior Vice President, Tax, Sun Life Financial Inc.
Nick Pantaleo, FCPA, FCA, Senior Vice President, Tax at Rogers Communications Inc.
Jocelin Paradis, Vice President, Taxation Canada, Rio Tinto Alcan
Noeline Simon, Vice President, Taxation and Industry Analytics, Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association Inc.
Michael Smart, Department of Economics, University of Toronto
Barbara Sulzenko-Laurie, Insurance Bureau of Canada
Ted Tomkowiak, Senior Vice President, Taxation, RBC
Thomas A. Wilson, Senior Advisor, Institute for Policy Analysis, University of Toronto

Observer Status: Department of Finance Canada