July 6, 2015

Monetary Policy Council

The C.D. Howe Institute Monetary Policy Council is comprised of 12 of Canada’s most distinguished financial-market and monetary economists. Chaired by the Institute’s President and Chief Executive Officer William Robson, it provides the Bank of Canada, financial-market participants and economic policy commentators with a regular independent assessment of the appropriate stance of Canadian monetary policy as the Bank of Canada pursues its 2 percent inflation target.

The Monetary Policy Council convenes to discuss the Bank of Canada’s policy toward the overnight rate, the very short-term interest rate the Bank targets for monetary policy purposes, shortly before each of the Bank’s interest-rate announcements.

The Bank of Canada’s interest-rate announcements occur roughly every six weeks. The Monetary Policy Council’s recommendations, including the individual votes of its members, appear on the C.D. Howe Institute’s website at 2:00 p.m. on the Thursday before each scheduled announcement. You can find the MPC and Bank of Canada schedules here.















The members of the Monetary Policy Council are:

Steve Ambler
Université du Québec à Montréal;
David Dodge Chair in Monetary Policy
Doug Porter
BMO Capital Markets
Paul Beaudry
University of British Columbia
Nicholas Rowe
Carleton University
Edward A. Carmichael
Ted Carmichael Global Macro
Avery Shenfeld
CIBC World Markets Inc.
Thorsten Koeppl
Queen’s University
Pierre Siklos
Wilfrid Laurier University
Stéfane Marion
National Bank
David Tulk
TD Bank
Angelo Melino
University of Toronto
Craig Wright
RBC Financial Group


Contact: Kristine Gray — phone: 416-865-1904; e-mail: kgray@cdhowe.org.