July 7, 2015

Ontario’s Best Public Schools: 2009-2011

June 7, 2012 – David Johnson and Robbie Brydon

A new in-depth report reveals Ontario’s best public schools: where student results on math, reading and writing tests beat the odds that their backgrounds suggest. In “Ontario’s Best Public Schools: 2009-2011,”  David Johnson and Robbie Brydon compare student outcomes at Ontario elementary schools where students come from similar socio-economic backgrounds, revealing “good” schools where principals, teachers and staff are making a noticeably positive difference to student performance.

The resulting school ratings, by percentile, are useful not only to parents, but to teachers, school board administrators and education officials who wish to identify schools whose practices deserve imitation, or where improvement is warranted.

For the E-Brief, Ontario’s Best Public Schools: 2009-2011, go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/e-brief_134.pdf

School Results by Region

(from east to west)

Eastern Ontario (Algonquin and Lakeshore Catholic District School Board, Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario, Hastings and Prince Edward District School Board, Limestone District School Board, Ottawa Catholic District School Board, Ottawa-Carleton District School Board, Renfrew County Catholic District School Board, Renfrew County District School Board, Upper Canada District School Board),  go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/EasternOntario.pdf

Conseils scolaires francophones (Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est de l’Ontario, Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières, Conseil scolaire catholique Franco-Nord, Conseil scolaire de district catholique des Aurores boréales, Conseil scolaire de district catholique Centre-Sud, Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l’Est ontarien, Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Centre-Est de l’Ontario, Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Nouvel-Ontario, Conseil scolaire de district des écoles catholiques du Sud-Ouest, Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario, Conseil scolaire public du Nord-Est de l’Ontario, Conseil scolaire Viamonde), se rendre à http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/Conseilsfrancophones.pdf

Central Ontario (Durham Catholic District School Board, Durham District School Board, Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board, Penetanguishene Protestant Separate School Board, Peterborough Victoria Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board, Simcoe County District School Board, Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board, Trillium Lakelands District School Board, York Catholic District School Board, York Region District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/CentralOntario.pdf

Toronto (Toronto District School Board and Toronto Catholic District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/Toronto.pdf

Dufferin/Peel/Halton/Wellington (Dufferin Peel Catholic District School Board, Halton Catholic District School Board, Halton District School Board, Peel District School Board, Upper Grand District School Board, Wellington Catholic District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/DufferinPeelHaltonWellington.pdf

Hamilton/Niagara/Waterloo (District School Board of Niagara, Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board, Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board, Niagara Catholic District School Board, Waterloo Catholic District School Board, Waterloo Region District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/HamiltonNiagaraWaterloo.pdf

Southwestern Ontario (Avon Maitland District School Board, Bluewater District School Board, Brant Haldimand Norfolk Catholic District School Board, Bruce-Grey Catholic District School Board, Grand Erie District School Board, Greater Essex County District School Board, Huron-Perth Catholic District School Board, Lambton Kent District School Board, London District Catholic School Board, St. Clair Catholic District School Board, Thames Valley District School Board, Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/SouthwesternOntario.pdf

Northern Ontario (Algoma District School Board, District School Board Ontario North East, Huron-Superior Catholic District School Board, Keewatin-Patricia District School Board, Kenora Catholic District School Board, Lakehead District School Board, Moose Factory Island District School Area Board, Moosonee District School Area Board, Near North District School Board, Nipissing-Parry Sound Catholic District School Board, Northeastern Catholic District School Board, Northwest Catholic District School Board, Rainbow District School Board, Rainy River District School Board, Sudbury Catholic District School Board, Superior North Catholic District School Board, Superior-Greenstone District School Board, Thunder Bay Catholic District School Board), go to: http://www.cdhowe.org/pdf/NorthernOntario.pdf