July 6, 2015

Pension Policy Council

About the C.D. Howe Institute Pension Policy Council

The C.D. Howe Institute launched the Pension Policy Council in May 2007 to address key challenges facing Canada’s system of retirement saving, assess current developments, identify regulatory strengths and shortfalls, and make recommendations to ensure the integrity of pension earnings for the growing number of Canadians approaching retirement. The Institute gratefully acknowledges the participation of the advisory panel in the program.


Claude Lamoureux, Former President & CEO of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan


Keith AmbachtsheerRotman International Centre for Pension Management, Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto
Bob Baldwin
Randy Bauslaugh, Partner, McCarthy Tetrault
René Beaudry, Normandin Beaudry
Steve Bonnar
Peter Drake, Fidelity Investments
Brian FitzGerald, Capital G Consulting Inc.
Paul Forestell,  Mercer 
Barry Gros
Malcolm Hamilton
Bruce Kennedy, Executive Director, B.C. Pension Corporation
Kashif Malik, JPMorgan
Eric Mansour, Scotiabank
Bernard Morency, Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec
Leah Myers,  Ontario Ministry of Finance
Jim Pesando, University of Toronto
James Pierlot, Pierlot Pension Law
Graham Pugh, Ontario Municipal Employees’ Retirement System
Tom Reid, Sun Life Financial Inc.
Rob Ritchie, Great-West Life Assurance Company
Tammy Schirle, Wilfrid Laurier University
Allan Shapira, Aon Hewitt
Faisal Siddiqi, Buck Consultants
Jana Steele, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Rob Stewart, Department of Finance
TBA, Alberta Investment Management Corporation (AIMCo)
Randy VanDerStarren, President, Open Access
Fred Vettese, Morneau Shepell
Barbara Zvan, Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan