-A A +A
  • Canada’s Energy Agenda & National Unity
  • Canada’s Energy Agenda & National Unity
  • Canada’s Energy Agenda & National Unity
Nov 23

Canada’s Energy Agenda & National Unity

Annual Calgary Dinner with Dawn Farrell, Jason Kenney, Rich Kruger and Grant D. Sprague

Thursday, November 23, 2017 - 17:30 to 20:30
Add to Calendar

Recent developments in Canadian energy policy have left many Canadians wondering if Canada understands the value energy producers provide to the country. How can Canadian governments work together to create a national energy agenda that works?

Please join us for our Annual Calgary Dinner on Canada’s Energy Agenda & National Unity. The dinner will take place from 5:30-8:30 pm at the Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel. RSVP to Tammy Trepanier at ttrepanier@cdhowe.org.

Members: $150 | Non-members: $300 | Table of 8: $1,050

Dawn Farrell, President and Chief Executive Officer, TransAlta

Dawn Farrell is President and Chief Executive Officer of TransAlta Corporation, a director of TransAlta Corporation, a director of The Chemours Company and a member of the Trilateral Commission. She also sits on the boards of The Conference Board of Canada and the Business Council of Canada and is a member of The Canada-U.S. Council for Advancement of Women Entrepreneurs and Business Leaders.

Dawn has 30 years of experience in the electric energy industry, having held a number of senior management positions at TransAlta and BC Hydro. Her business experience spans a variety of areas in finance, business development, strategic planning, commercial operations, energy marketing and sustainable development.

Her past directorships include the Calgary Stampede, Mount Royal University Board of Governors, Fording Coal Income Fund, New Relationship Trust Fund, Mount Royal University Foundation and Vision Quest Windelectric.

Dawn holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree with a major in Finance and a Master’s degree in Economics from the University of Calgary (Calgary, AB). She has also attended the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University (Cambridge, MA).

From 2008-2009, Dawn served as Co-Chair of the Government of Canada’s Wind Technology Roadmap Industry Steering Committee. In 2012, she was appointed to the Alberta Energy Deputy Minister’s Electricity Advisory Group. She also served on the Canadian Federal Government’s Advisory Council for Promoting Women on Boards headed by the Honourable Rona Ambrose.

Dawn is an active supporter of the community. Today, she serves as a Community Champion for Momentum, a Calgary organization that partners with people living on low incomes and inspires the development of local economies, and in 2013, she joined Calgary Police Chief Rick Hanson to serve as Co-Chair of Calgary’s 2013 United Way Campaign.

She spends all of her personal time with her husband Brendon and her family.


Jason Kenney, Leader, United Conservative Party of Alberta

Jason committed himself to public life in the early 1990s as President of the Canadian Taxpayers Federation, where he fought hard for lower taxes and fiscal responsibility.

In 1997, Calgary voters elected him to Parliament where he worked to unite conservatives nationally. Since then, he’s been voted the “best overall,” “hardest working,” and “most knowledgeable” MP by his colleagues. Jason was called “perhaps Canada’s best immigration minister by the National Post, and also led Canada’s two largest ministries: Employment and Social Development, and National Defence.

As Multiculturalism Minister, he helped to double the Conservative Party’s support amongst new Canadians. In March of 2017, Jason was elected leader of PC Alberta. He successfully negotiated a unity agreement between PC Alberta and the Wildrose Party,which was supported by 95% of members in both parties.

On October 28th, 2017, Jason was elected Leader of the United Conservative Party with over 60% of the vote. Today, he’s running to be first United Conservative Party candidate up for election to the Legislature.


Rich Kruger, President and Chief Executive Officer, Imperial Oil

Rich Kruger was appointed chairman, president and chief executive officer of Imperial on March 1, 2013.

Mr. Kruger started his career with ExxonMobil in 1981 in Houston, Texas, and held various technical, supervisory, and management positions throughout the United States. Over the last 30 years, he has led projects around the world in a number of countries and regions, including Malaysia, Africa, the Middle East and the former Soviet Union.

In 2005, Mr. Kruger was appointed vice president, United States, ExxonMobil Production Company and in 2006 he was named executive vice president of ExxonMobil Production Company. Two years later, he was appointed president of ExxonMobil Production Company and elected a vice president of Exxon Mobil Corporation.

A native of Minneapolis, Minnesota, Mr. Kruger holds a mechanical engineering degree from the University of Minnesota and a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Houston.

Mr. Kruger is a member of the Business Council of Canada and a director of the United Way of Calgary and Area.


Grant D. Sprague, Q.C., Associate Counsel, Miller Thomson LLP, and Former Deputy Minister, Alberta Energy

With over 25 years of experience, Grant Sprague provides advice on natural resource and environmental law. His experience with the various regulatory systems enables him to give strategic and practical advice to clients while ensuring they achieve their outcomes. By bringing multiple perspectives, such as the view of governments, senior business leaders and stakeholders, Grant has assisted his clients navigating complex natural resource issues. Throughout his career, Grant has been called upon to advise and to build trusted relationships with senior leaders and decision-makers across Canada.

Grant has provided legal advice on a wide variety of issues in the natural resources field andenvironment. His experience includes:

Natural resource regulatory system and policy development: engaged in the challenge of developing and overseeing regulatory systems and integrated natural resource policy on a provincial level with ever competing interests and goals.

Environmental assessment: engaged in the development of reviews, consulting with stakeholders, while achieving the requirements of both federal and provincial regulators.

Regulatory approvals and enforcement: engaged in the creation of conditions of approval, contaminated sites, remediation and reclamation, undertaking regulatory appeals and responding to compliance and enforcement matters.

Regulatory advocacy: engaged before many regulatory tribunals in Alberta and before all levels of courts in Alberta.

Grant served as the Deputy Minister of Energy for Alberta from July 2013 to May 2016. He had responsibility for energy development, market access and electricity policy. Grant also co-led the Deputy Ministers’ Working Group on the Canadian Energy Strategy and had oversight of the 2015 Royalty Review. Prior to his appointment as Deputy Minister, Grant served as head of the Policy Coordination Office of Executive Council and as the Assistant Deputy Minister of Alberta Justice.

During his years with Alberta Justice, Grant provided legal advice to Alberta government departments on a full range of environmental matters under provincial legislation including the Environmental Protection and Enhancement Act, the Water Act, the Forests Act and the Public Lands Act.

Grant is a Senior Fellow with the C.D. Howe Institute and is a sessional lecturer at the University of Alberta School of Business.

Calgary AB, Sunalta Room, Calgary Marriott Downtown Hotel, 110 9th Avenue SE

C.D. Howe Institute events are open to members and their guests. Members can register online by signing in here, or contacting cdhoweevents@cdhowe.org.