Vibrant, dynamic competition lies at the heart of a robust economy, and supportive competition policy is essential to innovation, growth, and consumers’ wellbeing.

The Competition Policy Council comprises top-ranked academics and practitioners active in the field of competition policy. The Council is chaired by interim chair Elisa Kearney, Partner at Davies, Ward, Phillips & Vineberg LLP.  The Council provides analysis of emerging competition policy issues. Professor Edward Iacobucci, Dean at the University of Toronto and Competition Policy Scholar at the Institute, advises the program.

The Council generates crucial analysis for practitioners in the field, convenes a neutral forum for testing competing views, and provides an opportunity for policymakers, the media and the public to draw on the expertise of the competition field’s most distinguished legal and economic minds. The Council, whose members participate in their personal capacities, releases public reports that outline the issues and summarize the reasoning behind participants’ recommendations. The Council's most recent recommendations can be found here.


Elisa Kearney

Elisa Kearney

Partner, Davies, Ward, Phillips & Vineberg LLP


George Addy

George N. Addy

Chair, Advacon Inc.
Melanie Aitken

Melanie Aitken

Managing Principal, Washington, Bennett Jones LLP

Marcel Boyer

Research Fellow

Timothy Brennan

International Fellow

Neil Campbell

Co-chair, Competition and International Trade, McMillan Binch LLP

Erika M. Douglas

Assistant Professor of Law, Temple University, Beasley School of Law
Renée Duplantis

Renée Duplantis

Principal, The Brattle Group

Calvin S. Goldman, Q.C.

Principal, The Law Office of Calvin Goldman, Q.C.

Jason Gudofsky

Partner and Chair, Competition/Antitrust & Foreign Investment Group, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Lawson A.W. Hunter, Q.C. LL.D.

Senior Fellow


Other Research