About the C.D. Howe Institute

The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies. Widely considered to be Canada's most influential think tank, the Institute is a trusted source of essential policy intelligence, distinguished by research that is nonpartisan, evidence-based and subject to definitive expert review.

Get the App

International Economic Policy Council


Canada’s prosperity is strongly dependent on  its access to international markets , and its ability to compete for international investment and talent. There is a critical need to ensure that Canada’s approach to international economic relations is proactive, strategic, and evidence-based.

The C.D. Howe Institute’s International Economic Policy program provides essential policy intelligence to policy and business leaders seeking to navigate the rapidly-evolving global competitive environment.

The Program  publishes  research papers and convenes  policy conferences, roundtables and informal events and discussions. There are three core areas of research: increasing Canada’s competitiveness by better capturing the benefits of open trade and investment; prioritizing and concluding successful trade and investment agreements; and understanding and influencing rules and issues affecting Canadians in the global marketplace.

The  Council provides guidance and support to the program and meets periodically to review and discuss its output and impact, and to discuss relevant issues as they arise. The Council is chaired by the Hon. Michael Wilson, former Canadian finance minister, industry minister, and ambassador to Washington. The program’s research and publication activities are led by Daniel Schwanen, an award-winning economist with an extensive track record of influential research on cross-border trade and investment matters.


Michael Wilson
Chair, Barclays Capital Canada


Lisa Baiton
Lisa Baiton
Managing Director, Head of Global Public Affairs, Canada Pension Plan Investment Board
Dan Ciuriak
Fellow-in-Residence, C.D. Howe Institute; Senior Fellow, Centre for International Governance Innovation; Associate, BKP Development Research & Consulting GmbH; and Director and Principal, Ciuriak Consulting
John Curtis
Founding Chief Economist, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
Riyaz Dattu
Riyaz Dattu
Partner, International Trade and Investment Law, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Gitane De Silva
Gitane De Silva
Alberta's Senior Representative to the U.S., Economic Development and Trade
Wendy Dobson
Professor, Rotman School of Management and Co-director of the Rotman Institute for International Business; former Assistant Deputy Minister, Finance Canada

Connect with Us

© 2018 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with Us

© 2018 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.
International Economic Policy Council | C.D. Howe Institute


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.