About the C.D. Howe Institute

The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies. Widely considered to be Canada's most influential think tank, the Institute is a trusted source of essential policy intelligence, distinguished by research that is nonpartisan, evidence-based and subject to definitive expert review.

Get the App

William B.P. Robson


-A A +A


Bill Robson took office as President and CEO of the C.D. Howe Institute in July 2006, after serving as the Institute’s Senior Vice President since 2003 and Director of Research since 2000. He has written more than 230 monographs, articles, chapters and books on such subjects as government budgets, pensions, healthcare financing, inflation and currency issues. His work has won awards from the Policy Research Secretariat, the Canadian Economics Association, and the Donner Canadian Foundation. He is a Senior Fellow at Massey College and holds an ICD.D designation from the Institute of Corporate Directors. He is a member of the Panel of Senior Advisors to the Auditor General of Ontario and the Ifo World Economic Survey expert group, and a regular commentator on BNN/Bloomberg. Bill taught public finance and public policy at the University of Toronto from 2000 to 2003, and currently teaches a Master’s level course in public finance at the University of Toronto’s Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy.

Recent Research

November 21, 2017 - William B.P. Robson, Colin Busby, Aaron Jacobs
July 17, 2014 - Benjamin Dachis, Nicholas Chesterley, William B.P. Robson
November 1, 2009 - Colin Busby, William B.P. Robson, Pierre-Marcel Desjardins
February 1, 2008 - Robin Banerjee, Finn Poschmann, Colin Busby, William B.P. Robson, Benjamin Dachis
October 1, 1998 - Kenneth J. Boessenkool, Finn Poschmann, William B.P. Robson
January 1, 1998 - Kenneth J. Boessenkool, William B.P. Robson
January 1, 1996 - John B. Burbidge, J. Prince Michael, Lam Newman, Dickinson Paul, Christopher Ragan, William B.P. Robson
© 2019 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.
© 2019 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.