The C.D. Howe Institute established the SME Working Group to provide governments and regulatory authorities with recommendations that will support the success and growth of Canadian SMEs - particularly concerning: 

  • Removing barriers to availability and access to long-term patient financing;
  • Broadening Canadian capital markets, and;
  • Fostering an improved environment for business growth across Canada.


Michael Denham

Michael Denham

Executive Vice President, Commercial and Private Banking, National Bank of Canada


Carl Burlock

Carl Burlock

Executive Vice-President and Chief Business Officer, Export Development Canada
Pat Chaukos

Pat Chaukos

Director, Office of Growth and Innovation, Ontario Securities Commission
Pierre Cleroux

Pierre Cléroux

Vice President, Research and Chief Economist, BDC
Feridun Hamdullahpur

Feridun Hamdullahpur

Former President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Waterloo

Peter Hawkins

Managing Director & Controller, MELLOHAWK Logistics

Jeremy Kronick

Associate Vice President, Director of the Centre on Financial and Monetary Policy

David Lisk

Vice-President, National Research Council of Canada Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP)
Placeholder Icon

Rodney MacDonald

International Corporate Affairs - Canada, Mexico, Brazil, Intuit Canada

Blair Poetschke

President, Scintica Instrumentation