About the C.D. Howe Institute

The C.D. Howe Institute is an independent not-for-profit research institute whose mission is to raise living standards by fostering economically sound public policies. Widely considered to be Canada's most influential think tank, the Institute is a trusted source of essential policy intelligence, distinguished by research that is nonpartisan, evidence-based and subject to definitive expert review.

Get the App

Innovation Policy: Is This Time Different?


-A A +A
Roundtable Luncheon with Dr. Peter Nicholson, Iain Stewart and Dr. David Wolfe
Monday, October 30, 2017 - 12:00 to 13:30
Add to Calendar
Ottawa ON, Quebec Suite, 1st Floor, Fairmont Château Laurier, 1 Rideau St, Quebec Suite, 1st Floor
  • Innovation Policy: Is This Time Different?

C.D. Howe Institute events are open to members and their guests. Members can register online by signing in here, or contacting cdhoweevents@cdhowe.org.

Registration for this event is complimentary for C.D. Howe Institute members. To register, please contact Jacquelin Wong, Event Planner, at jwong@cdhowe.org.


Dr. Peter Nicholson, O.C., inaugural Chief Executive Officer, Council of Canadian Academies 

Peter Nicholson is semi-retired after a career in the public and private sectors during which he was: the inaugural Chief Executive Officer of the Council of Canadian Academies (2006-09), the Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy in the Office of the Prime Minister of Canada (2003-06); Special Advisor to the Secretary-general of the OECD (2002-03); Chief Strategy Officer of BCE Inc., Canada’s largest telecommunications company (1995-2002); Senior Vice-president, Scotiabank (1983-94). His career has also included senior executive the fisheries industry, as well as in the federal public service where, in 1994-95, Dr. Nicholson was Clifford Clark Visiting Economist in Finance Canada. He began his working career as an Assistant Professor in the Computer Science Department at the University of Minnesota. Peter Nicholson holds a BSc and MSc in physics from Dalhousie University and a PhD in operations research from Stanford University. Dr. Nicholson is a Member of the Order of Canada, and has been awarded honorary degrees by Acadia University, Dalhousie University, McMaster University, Queen’s University and Universite du Quebec.  He currently splits his time between Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia and Austin, Texas.  


Iain Stewart, President, National Research Council

Iain Stewart was appointed President of the National Research Council (NRC) effective August 24, 2016.

Prior to that, Mr. Stewart served as Associate Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada from July 2015 to August 2016, and Assistant Secretary of the International Affairs, Security and Justice Sector at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) from June 2014 to July 2015.

In addition, he has held a number of different leadership functions at Industry Canada, including Assistant Deputy Minister of the Strategic Policy Sector, Secretary to the "Jenkins Panel" on Federal Support to Research and Development, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister and Director General of the Science and Innovation Sector, and Director of Consumer Industries in the Industry Sector. Since joining the public service, Mr. Stewart has also worked at the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, Transport Canada and TBS, where he became Director of Infrastructure Policy after working as an analyst for Fisheries and Oceans.

Outside of the public service, Mr. Stewart served as Assistant Vice-President, Research, at Dalhousie University and was a member of the NRC Council.

Born, raised and educated in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Mr. Stewart holds a Master of Public Administration, a graduate diploma in Marine Policy, and a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Dalhousie University.


Dr. David Wolfe, Co-Director, Innovation Policy Lab, Munk School of Global Affairs

Dr. David A. Wolfe is Professor of Political Science at the University of Toronto Mississauga and Co-Director of the Innovation Policy Lab at the Munk School of Global Affairs. From 2009 to 2014 he was the Royal Bank Chair in Public and Economic Policy at the University of Toronto. He has been the Principal Investigator on two Major Collaborative Research Initiatives funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council. He is currently leading a five year SSHRC funded Partnership Grant on Creating Digital Opportunity for Canada. Prof. Wolfe has published extensively on cluster dynamics, innovation policy and related knowledge-based economic development. He is the editor or co-editor of ten books and numerous scholarly articles. His most recent book, co-edited with Meric Gertler, is Growing Urban Economies: Innovation, Creativity and Governance in Canadian City-Regions. 

Other Events in Ottawa

Connect with Us

© 2018 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.

Connect with Us

© 2018 C.D. Howe Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Event: Innovation Policy: Is This Time Different? | C.D. Howe Institute


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.